Week 7 – Book 7- “Mort” by Terry Pratchett

This week, I read “Mort” by Terry Pratchett. It’s been a while since I read this kind of book.

Death as he appears in the book, although I don’t remember any guitar…?

This is the kind of book that you read for fun. Not the “Oh, I find this so fascinating”-way but in the laughing way. Terry Pratchett’s books about the Discworld (it’s a series that you can read independent of the order, so don’t hesitate) and I would recommend it if your into the humorous and amusing books. It’s a relief to read these kind of books once in a while, I really felt like it this week and I’m pretty satisfied with my choice. I’ve read a lot of books about the Discworld before, and although it was a very long time ago since last time, I enjoyed it. It was a splendid combobreaker after I’ve read all these serious books that bring up social problems and unfairness. So thank you Terry Pratchett, for making my week a little happier.
Terry Pratchett always seems to find a way to entertain you. After a while, you figure out how his books work and can predict some of it, but not the story. Although it is essentially a sort of comedy, I still like many of his similes even if they might appear jokingly, for example the one when he compare History to an old sweater;

History isn’t like that. History unravels gently, like an old sweater. It has been patched and darned many times, reknitted to suit different people, shoved in a box under the sink of censorship to be cut up for the dusters of propaganda, yet it always—eventually—manages to spring back into its old familiar shape. History has a habit of changing the people who think they are changing it. History always has a few tricks up its frayed sleeve. It’s been around a long time.”

…just dying a little inside of the awesomeness of that quote.
It’s hard to describe how he writes, but if I had to choose two words for it, I would say witty and slightly sarcastic. The best way to get a grip on how he writes is probably to read one of his books.

Also, Death’s in his book(s). Not death, but the Death, the personification of and character Death. He’s somehow present in many of his book, irregular amounts of screen time. However, he’s a major  character in this book. He a cheerful guy who likes kittens and curry and is very lonely, although he  has a daughter (adopted of course) named Ysabell. He doesn’t understand humans and human emotions either, something that makes him very puzzled at times. Poor thing. It’s not easy being Death, is it?

The Discworld, as it is described in the books.

Easter break is over. It’s time to return to the long-lasting prison some might call ‘school’. Disturbing? Yes.

Over and out!

4 thoughts on “Week 7 – Book 7- “Mort” by Terry Pratchett

  1. Coolest Death ever? At least I think so! Maybe I should read those books, especially since the last ones I’ve read mostly were dystopic novels featuring nuclear weapons and torture… I could need a good laugh by now.

    Oh yes, I certainly had to! >8D It is true, you know. Although it wasn’t that much, really :3

  2. That particular scene – Death with the guitar – is from Soul Music. But read Reaper Man first.

    • Oh, I didn’t know. I can’t recall if I’ve read that particular book (since it was a long time ago I read other books in this series), but I’m sorry if I created some misunderstanding >_<

  3. Pingback: Terry Pratchett | My Seryniti

Share your thoughts with me?

